The next major tournament of 2021—LidaKor’s Two Pools 2 Tournament—harkens the return of amazing 2v2 team games with a unique twist; every game, each team will select their civilizations from two pools: one they drafted and one drafted by their opposing team! This leads to unconventional civilization match-ups featuring many civilizations rarely seen on the competitive scene!

LidaKor hosted the first Two Pools Tournament back in 2019 (on Age of Empires II: HD), where MbL, Nicov, and Hera defeated TheViper and TaToH in an incredible best-of-seven series which not only came down to the wire, but featured one of the craziest plays of the year: a double boar lame with counter blocking!

The Lineup

Eight teams were invited to the event based on past tournament performances:

  • TheViper and TaToH
  • Hera and Liereyy
  • MbL and Nicov
  • TheMax and Villese
  • miguel and dogao
  • DauT and slam
  • Mr. Yo and Lyx 
  • ACCM and saymyname

They’ll be joined by another eight teams who enter via the qualifiers:

  • JorDan_AoE and Nili
  • Vinchester, Dark, and classicpro
  • LaaaaaN and Hearttt
  • BadBoy and SongSong
  • BruH and Sitaux
  • Barles and Valas
  • Vodka and Rise
  • Ganji, Kamigawa, and Modri

The Battlefields

Two Pools boasts a variety of unique maps from which to choose: including new maps along with returning classics from earlier tournament events!

Rockslide

Featured during Red Bull Wololo 3 for the first time with the Empire Wars settings, Rockslide has never been seen in a 2v2 or Random Map setting before now.

Coast to Mountain

A long-time tournament favorite that disappeared from the scene for some time, Coast to Mountain features a nomad start. Players will battle over the open plains in the center of the map, a large pond with plenty of fish, and a mountainous region protecting the map’s gold and stone resources.

Cape of Storms

The winner of the 2019 Two Pools tournament community map building contest, Youngpanda’s Cape of Storms brings us to the stormy coastline of South Africa. Offering a unique setting in many ways—including water elevation and the presence of a pocket and flank player—this predecessor of the Coastal Forest map has taken its place as one of the most unique and entertaining maps in the Two Pools tournament.

Forest Pond

Offering early aggression via the pond in the middle and epic late-game engagements on the outside land, Forest Pond supports a variety of playstyles on a map that still lacks any single, definitive meta as to how any given team emerges victorious.

The map pool includes many unique and diverse battlefields upon which to fight, allowing each team to select the ones that suit their playstyle best.

Tournament Schedule

Every match can be watched live on LidaKor’s Twitch channel, or you can catch up with previous matches on YouTube!

ROUND EVENT DAYS STARTS @
Group Stage
(Round 1)
Friday, April 2 – Sunday, April 4 Starts at 14:00 UTC (16:00 CET / 7:00a PT / 10:00a ET)
Group Stage
(Round 2)
Friday, April 9 – Sunday, April 11 Starts at 14:00 UTC (16:00 CET / 7:00a PT / 10:00a ET)
Group Stage Deciders Saturday, April 17 Starts at 14:00 UTC (16:00 CET / 7:00a PT / 10:00a ET)
Quarterfinals Sunday, April 18 Starts at 14:00 UTC (16:00 CET / 7:00a PT / 10:00a ET)
Semifinals Saturday, April 24 Starts at 14:00 UTC (16:00 CET / 7:00a PT / 10:00a ET)
Grand Final Sunday, April 25 Starts at 14:00 UTC (16:00 CET / 7:00a PT / 10:00a ET)

Changes to the schedule may occur, so be sure to check out the official brackets of the event for streaming times!

Discuss Be the first to comment!