Age IV Civilizations

Playing The Abbasid Dynasty

The Abbasid Dynasty is an adaptive civilization due to their ability to research unique upgrades at the House of Wisdom. These upgrades impact and alter core game elements and mechanics, providing a unique way to build your empire.

In Age of Empires IV, the Abbasid Dynasty civilization spans the years 750-1517 CE and is based on the Abbasid Caliphate and the Mamluk Sultanate. The empire was born in modern-day Iraq, but after the Mongols destroyed its capital of Baghdad in 1258, the seat of power moved to Cairo.

You will experience the “Golden Age of Islam” playing the Abbasid Dynasty – an Arabic-speaking civilization. This period saw flourishing technological innovations as the medieval world raced towards the modern era. The Abbasid Dynasty ruled the spiritual heart of the Islamic world for nearly 800 years, surviving civil wars, the Crusades, the Mongol invasion, relentless piracy, and rebellions.

Playing the Abbasid Dynasty in Age IV

The Abbasid Dynasty civilization is centered around their House of Wisdom, which provides unique upgrade opportunities and acts as the basis of their Golden Age mechanic.

As buildings are constructed around the House of Wisdom, the tier of their Golden Age increases, bringing with it increases to gather, research, and production rates.

Unique to their civilization, the Abbasid Dynasty receive Camel Archers and Camel Riders, which serve as unique anti-cavalry cavalry units.

The Abbasid Dynasty’s unique ability to construct Landmarks and advance through the ages without needing to assign active villagers enables the Abbasid Dynasty to continue gathering resources, construct buildings, or perform other tasks allowing uninterrupted growth.

The Abbasid Dynasty Units at a Glance

Camel Archers

The Camel Archer is an anti-cavalry cavalry unit that reduces damage from nearby enemy cavalry units. Their expanded attack range and higher damage than average Horse Archers allows them to pick away at enemy cavalry from a safe distance.


The Imam is an inspirational community leader that can be created from the Abbasid’s Mosque building.

The Abbasid Dynasty through the Ages

Age 1

In Age 1, the Abbasid Dynasty civilization start off with the House of Wisdom, offering several unique upgrades to alter their gameplay, economy, military, and/or trade. Unlike other civilizations which need to construct Landmarks to Age Up, the Abbasid must complete these upgrades, which can be done in any order.

Age 2

While the Abbasid Dynasty do not see a new Landmark building constructed at the start of their second Age, they instead gain access to Camel Archers, unique anti-cavalry ranged units.

Age 3

Once again, the Abbasid Dynasty forego a new Landmark in their third Age, this time gaining the Camel Rider, another of their unique anti-cavalry units.

Age 4

Upon reaching the Fourth Age, the Abbasid Dynasty will have researched three of the four available Wings. During this age, players can complete their final Wing upgrade, reaching what might be seen as a form of “Fifth Age.”

The House of Wisdom

The House of Wisdom is one of the key defining features of the Abbasid Dynasty. This unique civilization-specific structure provides access to many unique civilization upgrades and mechanics. In addition, players can further upgrade their House of Wisdom by researching and completing four different Wings of Knowledge. These can be completed in any order, providing access to additional upgrades, strengthening the House of Wisdom, and Aging Up the civilization.

Economic Wing
Trade Wing
Military Wing
Culture Wing